An Update from the WVC Global Student Club Team President

ev

Hi! My name is Michaela Rhine and I am a West Valley College student studying Communication as my major and Global Studies as my minor. I will be transferring to either California State University at Monterey Bay or at Chico. After graduation, I have goals to work in Human Resources and to get my teaching credential in Intercultural Communication. I would love to work for a nonprofit organization and to volunteer for a place that helps women and men get the help they need.

For example, right now I am really passionate about spreading awareness about disabilities and therefore working for something like the West Valley College Disability and Educational Support Program (DESP). I am also looking at the gender and sexual concerns regarding female genital mutilation (FGM) and circumcision. I’m trying to understand if it’s really necessary for people to do this to women and girls, because there are no benefits from it, and it may just be a tradition that we could stop, since it is hurting many people out in the world.

Also, I want to spread awareness to third world countries, and if they are willing to hear me out, I want to show how the U.S.A. takes care of issues like meeting the needs of students with disabilities and dealing with FGM. I want to help better inform people, and to show them that there are more humane ways to be. I want to travel the world doing this.

I think that teaching to develop awareness has an effect to a certain degree, but in order to really change the world, I believe that one really has to dig her way into other cultures. I had the chance to do a little of that digging when I traveled around Europe with an organization called People to People. I hope that many other students can travel too. (Here is a picture of me, Marishka, and Benjamin doing community service while we were in Germany.)

ev-1

Well enough about me… now more about the West Valley College Global Student Club. Right now I am the Team President of this club and our membership is growing. This Spring of 2014 we meet from 3:30 to 4:30 PM every other Monday (so, every two weeks) in the Global Citizenship Center located in the Campus Center.

What is the club all about? To be honest, we don’t have a mission statement yet, but we are open to learning about all cultures. We want to hear students’ voices, to become more aware about global concerns around the world, to talk about those concerns, and to organize events and activities that show students and everyone the importance of those concerns.

In previous years, the Global Student Club has presented “legend nights” when students come together and share stories about their cultures. We have also hosted screenings of international movies and follow-up discussions. In recent semesters, we showed a French feature film titled The Intouchables and a Japanese feature film titled Jiro Dreams of Sushi.

This year we are finally ordering t-shirts, so please look for the Global Green Team on campus! Also, on Monday April 21st from 3:30 to 4:30 PM, we are doing a special event called the Global Thought for Change. This will be an event where members of the club speak about controversial topics, such as dis“ability” awareness and how food in our culture is changing because of all the diverse people we have in the U.S.A. At the end of the event we will open the floor for a group discussion, and we will hand out special prizes. This is a free event, so tell your teachers. Who knows, they might even make it an extra credit opportunity.

In the future, we hope to increase the number of members in the Global Student Club, to create study abroad programs, and to do much more! You may find yourself loving what the Global Student Club talks about, so come listen to us and give us a shot!

This entry was composed by Michaela Rhine.

Leave a Reply

