WVC Team to Attend Global Citizenship Seminar

The WVC Global Citizenship Committee, with the support of the WVC Office of the President, is pleased to announce that a team of two faculty members and one administrator have been awarded a stipend to attend the Global Citizenship Alliance’s GCS 6, the “Global Citizenship Seminar for Faculty and Administrators,” a one week residential professional development program.

Congratulations Janis Kea, Renee Paquier, and Sean Pepin!

Dr. Kea teaches Economics.

Ms. Paquier teaches Administration of Justice.

Dr. Pepin is the Director of Student Development.

This year, GCS 6, takes place in Potsdam, Germany from 10 to 17 July 2016. Participants will stay in the Mercure Hotel Potsdam City, right by the Havel River, across the street from the Old Market and Potsdam Museum where the lectures will be held.

4045_128_z

Mercure Hotel

PURPOSE OF THE SEMINAR

GCS 6 aims to examine a diverse set of substantive topics, explore strategies for institutional change, and create a framework for initiating, participating in, and implementing specific initiatives to transform the college into a “site of global citizenship.” During the week, participants engage in developing knowledge, skills, values, and commitment to:

  • Understanding the nature of globalization
  • Understanding diversity
  • Recognizing critical global challenges
  • Thinking globally and acting locally
  • Applying lessons learned to address specific needs at WVC
Schiffsanleger Potsdam

Potsdam, Germany, dome of St. Nicholas’ Church on the Alter Markt in the background (Photo from the Internet)

FACULTY PROJECTS

All three participants have made a commitment to share what they learn with the WVC community. Dr. Pepin has many plans for applying the knowledge gathered at the conference to his work with students, and Dr. Kea and Ms. Paquier have specific projects that they will complete during the 2016-2017 academic year.

Dr. Kea describes her project: Through my participation in the Global Citizenship Seminar, I look forward to developing a better and more comprehensive understanding of “globalization,” a buzzword that has been applied across many disciplines, issues, research studies, and scholarly discussions as well as informal conversations.

Having some background in international issues (development economics was a field of study in my graduate work, and my dissertation examined trade policies in Indonesia), I appreciate the importance of having a global perspective as a teacher.  Even more significant, however, is the ability to educate our students regarding challenges and issues that we all face as part of a larger global community, and regarding the need for each and every student to be an active member of this global community. And it is this goal of improving my teaching to include not only a more global perspective, but to have my students raise awareness  of the world around them–a world that goes beyond Saratoga, California and across our borders and oceans–that drives my interest in this seminar and in my project.

I believe this seminar will provide me with tools, methodologies and creative ideas for infusing “globalization” in its many contexts into my Economics courses. Participation in the seminar will contribute to my personal and professional development, and will produce outcomes (as identified below and as they develop while attending the seminar) that will contribute to WVC’s mission by better preparing students for transferring to four-year colleges and universities (where they will likely participate in an increasingly diverse community), and by contributing to the students’ understanding and ability to interact within the global society (and thus promoting the growth and competitiveness of our local communities, our state, our nation, and the world.

Plan of action

I have three general goals that the seminar will help me to accomplish during the 2016-2017 academic year:

  1. To learn about Global Studies-centered pedagogical approaches that I can incorporate in my courses;
  2. To identify additional content for my courses that will facilitate my enactment of Global Studies-centered pedagogical approaches.
  3. To share what I learn with colleagues in my division, primarily, as well as other colleagues at WVC.

More specifically, in Fall 2016, I plan to:

  1. Take inventory of the Global Studies-centered pedagogical approaches and themes discussed in the seminar, and choose three that are most applicable for my courses and teaching. This would include development of specific lessons on global issues (for example, access to clean drinking water) and incorporating economic models/concepts to address policies.
  2. Participate in a Global Citizenship presentation on Flex Day in order to present the three pedagogical approaches and how they might be useful in other disciplines.
  3. Continue to gather information and scholarship that describe Global Studies-centered pedagogical approaches for teaching Economics, as well as other disciplines.
  4. At the end of the semester, examine if/how enacting those pedagogical approaches impacted my teaching.

In Spring 2017, I plan to:

  1. Add 2-3 additional pedagogical approaches that I will enact in my teaching.
  2. Share/discuss my growing list of Global Studies-centered pedagogical approaches with WVC colleagues.
  3. Since I also teach online, examine how those approaches may be infused in the cyber classroom.
  4. As chair of WVC’s Distance Education Committee, share my findings with all members of the committee, and propose that I share that information with WVC’s Academic Senate.
  5. By the end of the semester, compose a blog entry about these pedagogical approaches, and their impacts, in face-to-face and online modes. The blog entry will be shared with Social Science faculty as well as the rest of the WVC community.
  6. As co-chair of the Social Sciences Division, contribute to discussions of a possible Global Studies ADT, including design of curriculum (a Global Studies introductory course that is interdisciplinary in nature).

Based on insights and information gleaned from the seminar, and from my work during fall and spring semesters, these are the most important outcomes that I envision.

pots

Ms. Paquier describes her project: I am applying for the stipend to attend the Global Citizenship Alliance’s GCS 6, the “Global Citizenship Seminar for Faculty and Administrators,” because I plan to refocus the content and pedagogy in all courses within the Administration of Justice Department (AJ), so that they are infused with Global Studies approaches.

During the 2016-2017 academic year, I want to shift the pedagogy and content in all AJ classes so that they reflect the reality of our students and the world they live in. I want our classes and our teaching to be culturally responsive and to emphasize that the communities where AJ students live and work are directly connected to many places in the world. I want our classes to address the reality that Administration of Justice is a multi-layered, complex, and challenging field that must be aware of many different needs.

My plan to refocus pedagogy and content in AJ was affirmed recently when I went to the American Criminal Justice Society Conference, where I initiated this topic for discussion and everyone was very receptive. Publishers asked me to contribute to the updating of textbooks in the field of AJ. And I intend to do that, so that my work with classes at WVC has a broader impact in the discipline of AJ. It is imperative for our students to have a better understanding of what is means to be a global citizen and what issues (specifically within their respective fields) people, globally, are facing. If those working within the field of criminal justice, specifically law enforcement, had a better understanding of, for example, other cultures and peoples, then there would be fewer misunderstandings and a reduction in the amount of fears certain officers have when it comes to interacting with people from different cultures.

I want to attend the GCS6 in order to learn about Global Studies and to prepare myself for this plan. Attending the GCS6 will allow me to bring back the tools necessary to incorporate global studies ideas, approaches, and methodologies into both my plan for the classes and to contributing in the editing of textbooks in the field of CJ. My plan will make an impact at WVC and help to distinguish WVC’s AJ program from among all others. My plan will help to make WVC’s AJ program into a model for other colleges.

Steps for the 16/17 Academic Year:

The first step:

• During summer, I will attend GCS 6 and learn about Global Studies pedagogy and about how to infuse AJ courses with global issues.

• I will also begin to plan a series of talks with my colleagues in and out of AJ.

The second step:

  • During fall, I will hold 3 two hour meetings with my colleagues in AJ, so that I can share what I learned during GCS 6, and so that I can motivate them to participate in this plan.
  • I will also lead the effort to examine sample readings for students, all of the best Global Studies centered best practices, as evidenced in published articles and in other community colleges.
  • I want to make sure that students in AJ are involved. Therefore, during fall 2016 semester I will lead the effort to survey our students about their understanding of global issues and their importance in AJ. Their feedback will help  me to plan implementation for the spring.
  • Finally, I will lead the effort to make a plan for implementing both the readings and the pedagogy during spring semester.The third step:
  • During spring semester I will hold 3 two hour meetings with my colleagues in AJ, so that we can discuss how implementation is proceeding, and so we can make adjustments.
  • At the same time, I will be talking with the publishers that approached me, and I will begin to contribute to the editing of major textbooks in AJ.
  • I want to make sure that students in AJ remain involved in this plan. Therefore, at the end of Spring ’17 semester, I plan to survey students so that we can assess if there has been any impact in our attempt to refocus pedagogy and infuse the content of each class.
  • I also intend to make a presentation during our spring flex day, and to write a brief progress report describing our work in AJ for the GC blog.
  • At the end of the spring semester, I will offer to make presentations (describing our progress) to both the AS and the BOT.

 

Leave a Reply

